Friends Don’t Let Friends….

have other shitty friends. It’s true.

I recently had a really great conversation with two of my greatest friends. Literally greatest. I think its everything we have been through together but also the fact that we have a lot in common and a lot of differences. They opened my eyes to other opinions and other ways of life. I do feel that I am cultured and aware of the world but I also do believe there is always more to learn. They both come from a very different place than I and because of that they offer me an insight to the world that I would not be able to get on my own. We share a lot of life experiences together which has bonded us in away that I don’t think could have happened without it. I do have to mention there is more of us. Haha. That sounds so weird. There is a group of five of us. We all have a common thread of thought that not only began in Architecture school but continued to grow and get stronger over the last year. We graduated twice together and have spent the last year since graduation doing all kinds of things. Like we just took a trip to Washington D.C. We drove and honestly it wasn’t the worst thing ever. We know a lot of things about each other that we don’t really share with others. I trust them with my secrets, I trust them with my life. I was never a person to have a lot of friends. I think its related to that fact that one, I am really bad at making friends, two I find it hard to just connect with people, and three I have a social anxiety. I really don’t like to pity myself and I see my anxiety as something that I just need to get over even though I am aware it doesn’t just work like that but I also have a problem with therapy. Sorry if it works for you but I don’t believe in it. Going back to what I was saying before. Friends never came easy. I had great friends growing but and I am still great friends with them today but my architecture school friends understand me like no friends ever will and its great to know that I have them in my life. We can talk about anything and we are open to each others opinions. Our dinner conversations discuss how we can save the world and how we can change our lives to be more green. They are people I will never forget and people I will never let leave my life. So keep your great friends, be aware of your good ones and get rid of the bad ones. Don’t waste your time on people who don’t give you any of theirs.

Thanks for listening.

-A

IMG_3638

Photo by me on my trip with my friends to Washington, D.C.

Leave a Reply

